BARCELONA, SPAIN

Barcelona is a m a z i n g.

I’m lucky to have Shayna and Mike who already know their way around. I’ve done so much over the past few days it would take forever to explain it all.

I explored Park Güell, went to the beach, ate at Bo de B (maybe the best sandwich I’ve ever had in my life), ate my fair share of patatas bravas, drank locally brewed beers, and tried allll the Spanish tapas and pinchos. I also found out that sangria isn’t actually what Barcelona is known for, that’s just what tourists think. They’re actually known for cava which is like a sparkling wine. I wandered the area near the beach while Shayna had classes, celebrated our friend Abby’s 21st birthday, practiced my Spanish speaking, and somewhat figured out the metro system. Getting from Mike to Shayna or vice versa was an absolute experience. I can only use my cellphone via WiFi, so while I was out navigating the streets and the metro I had nothing to rely on but myself. Intimidating at first but a huge confidence booster in the end.

IMG_2788IMG_2853

Last night we went out to watch the FC Barcelona game at a bar, and from there we got talked into going to a bar with the most interesting shots I’ve ever seen.

  • Boy Scout shot – light a marshmallow on fire, dip it in the shot, eat the marshmallow, take the shot
  • Harry Potter shot – covered in whip cream with a candy on top
  • Georgia shot – stick your thumb in the shot, light your thumb on fire (literally), suck your thumb, take the shot. *don’t be like Mike and burn your thumb off. Actually suck your thumb*
  • Spicy shot – shot with a Pringle and hot sauce on top

Those are the few we tried but there must have been 15+ more. Definitely geared towards tourists, but it was fun nonetheless.

The one slight negative about Barcelona is just adjusting to their timing. It’s the norm here to take a siesta during the middle of day, eat dinner at 9pm or later, and get back from the bar/clubs between 4am-7am. It’s about as fun as it gets but damn, it’s killing my sleep schedule.

IMG_3057

In a couple of hours I’m leaving for Paris with Mike and his roommates while Shayna goes to the south of France with her program. So next blog post: Paris. Keep ya eyes peeled.

One thought on “BARCELONA, SPAIN

Leave a comment