The road to Spain

Trip to Madrid/Barcelona

Today was weird. We left our hostel in London at 5 am, had a nightmare checking in our bags because mine was obviously over the weight limit, then had to run to our terminal to make our flight on time. But eventually we made it to Madrid relatively unscathed. Unfortunately for us, that was just the beginning.

I’m very thankful for my Spanish minor right about now because I had to completely rely on my Spanish speaking skills to navigate us both to our separate bus terminals. Lauren was headed to Salamanca where she’ll be studying for the semester, and I was heading to Barcelona to visit another USC roommate of mine, Shayna. Navigating my way around in Spanish was difficult… but I’m writing this post so obviously I made it! After an 8-hour bus ride from Madrid to Barcelona, arriving at a bus station with no WiFi in the middle of the night with no real idea of where to meet Shayna, somehow I managed to find her. Phew.

Today I met up with another friend of mine, Mike, who was also studying in Barcelona this semester. Once Shayna finished her classes she joined us and we got to explore the city a bit. It’s much warmer and sunnier than London which was a pleasant change. Today we saw Barceloneta, the Arc de Triomf, Las Ramblas, Plaça d’Espanya, and the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya.

I’m staying in Barcelona until Thursday, so I will soon have more to write. Hasta entonces!

Leave a comment